The six regional teams for England Universities Regional Games have submitted their final 20-Man squads for the matches which take place this weekend.

The regional games are the first step on the England University RL pathway, with players selected for the region in which they are studying, with a round of inter-regional games, which will take place as follows:

  • Yorkshire v Midlands
  • Friday 30th November 7.45pm
  • Sheffield Hallam University Sports Park, S9 1UA
  • North West v North East
  • Saturday 1st December, 3.30pm
  • JMO Sports Park, Skelmersdale, WN8 8BX
  • South East v South West
  • Sunday 2nd December, 4.00pm
  • Maidenhead RFC, SL6 1BN

All players will be aiming to impress England selectors for the right to move to the next level of the pathway, the University RL Origin Game which pits the North (Yorkshire, North East and North West) against the South (Midlands, South East, South West), in a one-off extended game which will take place in February 2019.

Gloucestershire University have the most players selected with nine in the South West side.

Both Reading and St Mary’s have eight representatives in the South East side with Yorkshire featuring seven players from Leeds Beckett.

Ben Gray, Connor MacCallum, Kieran Smith, Lee Registe, Lewis Fairhurst, Matthew Chrimes, Ryan Langton and Will Jubb will all be hoping that they can perform to the same standard as they did last year as they look to make the England Universities Origin Squad once more.

The full squads for this weekend’s games are as follows:

Matthew Ward (Bradford), Joe Edwards, Ryan Langton (Huddersfield), Kieran Smith, Sam Wilkinson-Pycock, Tom Jubb, Will Jubb (Hull), Callum Fletcher, Dom Senior, Kingsley Okra-Overton, Lee Registe, Louis Godfrey, Henry Davetanivalu, Matthew Chrimes (Leeds Beckett), Alex Gabriel, Lewis Davey, Lewis Metcalfe (Leeds Trinity), Ben Gray, Ben Waud, Kai Fagan (Sheffield Hallam).
Head Coach: Brett Turner. Assistant Coaches: Matt Airey and Danny Lee

Alex Best, Harry Leek (Birmingham), Euan Tiernan, John Sipawa, Lewis Munyoro (Coventry), Jack Dykes (Leicester), Luke Shaw (Lincoln), Josh Boulger, George Prewett, Robert Branton, Sam Bird (Loughborough), Jacob Jones (Loughborough College), Brad Moss, Luke Perrins, Reece Nicholson, Tobias Cornish (Nottingham Trent), Ciaran Dean (Nottingham), George Edge (Warwick), Ben Foskett (Wolverhampton), Bandile Mahlase (University College Birmingham).
Head Coach: Mark Sloan. Assistant Coach: Chris Abel. Team Manager: Ryan Cousins.

North West
Jordan Cella (Bolton), Samuel Cunningham (BPP), Cory Bennie, Jobe Roxby, Lewis Fairhurst, Nathan Taylor, Rob Pritchard (Edge Hill), Josh Molloy, William Spencer (Liverpool), Alex Eckley, Alex Smith, James McDaid (Liverpool John Moores), Andrew Joy (Manchester College), Conner MacCallum, Harry Godfrey (Manchester Metropolitan), Daniel Munt, Harry Warburton, Reece Cumiskey (Salford), Jack Thompson, Jake McLaughlin (UCLan).
Head Coach: Graham Holroyd. Assistant Coaches: Alex Davidson, James Brown.

North East
Daniel Charlton, Jacob Sharp, Joe Blood, Rob Dessington, Sean Henney, Will Holt (Durham), Adam Riding, Agnel Agbo, Billy Sturdy, Jack Earl, Sam Norris, Sam Walkier (Newcastle), Anthony Dyne, Charlie Fothergill, Jack Quinn, Sean Croston, Tom Wilcox (Northumbria), Craig Banks (Sunderland), Charlie Frost, Stephen Gibbs (York St John).
Head Coach: Adam Houston. Assistant Coaches: Ieuan Bodman, Tom Hodgson.

South East
Joshua Spearing (Bedfordshire), Thomas Davidson (Cambridge), Cameron Southgate, James Foster (Oxford Brookes), Charlie Parker, James Day, Josh Dalton, Joshua Bull, Nat Wood, Sam Bussell, Sam Jones, Will Higgins, (Reading), Chris Anderson, Daniel Roberts, Donovan Noble, Eric Sims, Marcus Hockey, Rory Butcher, Sam Bloomer, Will Budd (St. Mary’s).
Head Coach: John Isaacs. Assistant Coach: Ben Smith. Team Manager: Liam Burnett

South West
Ben Lillistone, Caley Gray, Daniel Ascoli, Rex Boulter, Sam Bragoli-Joines (Bath), Alex Mayo (Bristol), Michael Holden (Cardiff Metropolitan), Max Beeching (Exeter), Brett Davies, Callum Merrett, Chris Booth, Connor Whittall, Errol Carter, Josh Verity, Paul Leversedge, Sam Gilder, Will Gilder (Gloucestershire), Jack Daynes (Hartpury), Aedan Coleman, Henry Beer (UWE).
Head Coach: Ben Whincup. Assistant Coach: Matthew Bodey. Team Manager: Chris Chatten.


Image Source: RFL

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: