Season Preview: Warrington Wolves

Will 2019 finally be the year for Warrington. Forever the bridesmaid, will they be the bride in Super League this season.

The season-ending injury sustained by Kevin Brown will be a huge loss for the Wolves but they are likely to be given Salary Cap Compensation so they could bring in a suitable replacement.

The arrival of Blake Austin will put ease to those worries, Dec Patton can fill it an half and he has the potential to make that starting spot his own after good appearances off the bench last season.

Perhaps just as important than the arrival of Austin is the return of England back-rower Ben Currie who has seen is last most of the last two seasons taken away from him by injury. However, he did make a World CupĀ  final appearance in between and is one of the most destructive forwards in Super League on his day.

Danny Walker has arrived from Widnes and Chris Hill knows all about how passionate the young hooker is when they clashed in the Challenge Cup back in 2017.

Jason Clark also arrives from the NRL and alongside Chris Hill, Mike Cooper and Ben Murdoch-Masila, the Wolves forward pack will be one of the most powerful in the league.

The Wolves certainly fell short of their expectations in 2018. A Challenge Cup final loss to Catalans and a Grand Final loss to Wigan were two disappointing games from Steve Price’s side.

Austin and Currie, as well as others could provide the much needed boost that was missing in the bigger games. Price will also be hoping that the defence holds up as well as it did last year and they can build off that like last season.


Stefan Ratchford, Tom Lineham, Bryson Goodwin, Ryan Atkins, Josh Charnley, Blake Austin, Kevin Brown, Chris Hill, Daryl Clark, Mike Cooper, Ben Currie, Jack Hughes, Ben Murdoch-Masila, Jason Clark, Declan Patton, Lama Tasi, Joe Philbin, Toby King, Sitaleki Akauola, Harvey Livett, Danny Walker, Jake Mamo, Matt Davis, Jack Johnson, Luis Johnson, Pat Moran, Morgan Smith, Eribe Doro, Ellis Robson, Ben Westwood.


Blake Austin (Canberra Raiders), Jason Clark (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Matt Davis (London Broncos), Lama Tasi (Salford Red Devils), Danny Walker (Widnes Vikings), Jake Mamo (Huddersfield Giants).


Tyrone Roberts (Gold Coast Titans), Ben Pomeroy (released), George King (Wakefield Trinity), Mitch Brown (released), Bodene Thompson (Toronto Wolfpack), Dominic Crosby (Leeds Rhinos).




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: