Championship Season Preview: Toronto Wolfpack

The favourites for promotion once again this year and it seems scary to think they have only been a club for two years.

They have already gone through highs, lows, heartbreak and the chaos that comes with the sport.

They’ve enjoyed promotion from League One but have been embroiled in off-field scandal and suffered the wrath of die-hard rugby league fans who disagree with the formation of the Wolfpack.

They have taken games on the road, had their games broadcast to a worldwide audience and consistently achieve over 7,000 at every home game. A big achievement in just their first two seasons.

On the field they have managed to sign two players of marquee quality and a raft of other high-profile players that are now lead by one of the countries most successful coaches in Brain McDermott.

Toronto are still set to succeed with their five year plan of being in Super League and only one outcome is acceptable this season.

That, of course, being promotion. Last year’s disappointing performance in the Million Pound Game was a tough pill to swallow but in the long run it will be considered a good thing if it means more sustainability for the club.

Another hugely impressive recruitment drive has taken place in the close-season, so if promotion is not achieved this season then many players may find themselves moving back to Super League clubs.

The incomings are headed by Cronulla Sharks centre, Ricky Leutele, as well as Tom Olbison, Joe Mellor and more.

Jon Wilkin, Bodene Thompson and Gadwin Springer also arrive and they don’t need any introduction.

Toronto know exactly how to catch the eye but one question remains. Where will Mason Caton-Brown end up moving too? He has not been given a squad number by the Wolfpack and he is certainly a Super League quality player.


Gareth O’Brien, Matty Russell, Chase Stanley, Ricky Leutele, Liam Kay, Joe Mellor, Josh McCrone, Adam Sidlow, Bob Beswick, Ashton Sims, Andrew Dixon, Bodene Thompson, Jon Wilkin, Andy Ackers, Darcy Lussick, Tom Olbison, Blake Wallace, Gadwin Springer, Gary Wheeler, Adam Higson, Greg Worthington, Ryan Brierley, Nick Rawsthorne, Jake Emmitt, Olsi Krasniqi.


Ricky Leutele (Cronulla Sharks), Jon Wilkin (St Helens), Joe Mellor (Widnes Vikings), Bodene Thompson (Warrington Wolves), Gadwin Springer (Castleford Tigers), Tom Olbison (Widnes Vikings).


Jack Bussey (Featherstone Rovers), Jonny Pownall (Leigh Centurions).


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: