Championship Season Preview: Dewsbury Rams

Lee Greenwood had been given the freedom to shake up his Dewsbury side during the off-season and has admitted that the club are in a state of transition.

The Rams managed to finish 9th in the regular season and climbed to eighth during the Championship Shield.

However, a big number of key players have been allowed to leave.

Toby Everett was signed by Batley, Gareth Potts left for Hunslet and the Sheffield Eagles signed the trio of Aaron Brown, James Glover and Josh Guzdek.

As well as this, Gareth Moore retired to focus on his business interests.

Simon Brown has been signed up from Sheffield to fill the void of Moore. However, the Rams are short of the creative talent that the 29-year-old hooker offered them when he was fully fit.

Greenwood has signed no fewer than 16 new players for his 2019 squad so there is a danger of there not being much of a team feel to the Rams. There is plenty of familiarity among many of their additions though.

Keighley Cougars top try-scorer for 2018, Andrew Gabriel has been signed up, as have Jordan Andrade, Danny King and Harvey Burnett from the Bradford Bulls.

No single signing is a massive headline in what was a off-season full of changes for the Rams. 2019 doesn’t look like it will be the most successful for the club but if given the right amount of time, Greenwood can rebuild this season and finish higher in 2020.


Dale Morton, Andrew Gabriel, Cameron Leeming, Adam Ryder, Alex Brown, Paul Sykes, Simon Brown, Jode Sheriffe, Robbie Ward, Toby Richardson, Lucas Walshaw, Michael Knowles, Kyle Trout, Lewis Heckford, Liam Johnson, Jordan Andrade, Martyn Reilly, Sam Day, Daniel Igbinedion, Charlie Martin, Jacob Thomas, Danny King, Rob Worrincy, Harvey Hallas, Matt Nicholson, Tom Halliday, Jack Ray, Jack Richardson, Tom Garrat.


Tom Garrat (Siddal), Jacob Thomas (Normanby Hounds), Harvey Burnett (Bradford Bulls), Lewis Heckford (Wigan Warriors), Harvey Hallas (Keighley Cougars), Alex Brown (Bradford Bulls), Simon Brown (Sheffield Eagles) Danny King (Bradford Bulls), Matt Nicholson (Hunslet), Jack Wray (Castleford Tigers), Liam Johnson (Huddersfield Giants), Jordan Andrade (Bradford Bulls), Charlie Martin (Doncaster), Cameron Leeming (Keighley Cougars), Andrew Gabriel (Keighley Cougars), Liam Mackay (Hunslet).


Jack Teanby (York City Knights), Aaron Brown (Sheffield Eagles), Josh Guzdek (Sheffield Eagles), James Glover (Sheffield Eagles), Toby Everatt (Batley Bulldogs), Gareth Moore (retired).


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: